Spittin Soccer

Jay-Z Educates You About Freddy Adu

adu-freddyWhen was the last time you chanted about soccer?  If you ever had Jay-Z’s American Gangster on your playlist, then you spit a few bars about a well-known athlete from the sport.

I’m like Kanye’s jaw.

I might break but I don’t fold till I hold the sky in my hand.

Yeah that’s my goal.

And then I bid you Freddy Adu.

Prodigal Child, y’all not ready for the future.-American Gangster Jay –Z

At age fourteen, Freddy Adu became one of the youngest athletes to sign a professional sports contract in the United States.  This Ghanaian born-American soccer player made his debut with Major League Soccer’s DC United and was dubbed as the next Pele.  However since this goal scorer splashed on the global radar, he has said hello and good-bye (Jay’s play on Adu/Adieu) to a number of clubs in Portugal, France, Greece and Turkey.

I had the opportunity to catch up with a sportswriter while in Lisbon who gave me his thoughts on Adu’s time with Benfica.  Catch the clip below.

Then, Adu returned to the MLS with the Philadelphia Union in 2011.  Only a few days ago, the 23 year old parted ways with the club.  ESPN’s Jason Davis blogs about Adu’s departure on the Soccer USA blog.

And that my friends is how we breakdown those lyrics into soccer bars…

Catch our Brazilian Portuguese Soccer language lessons on YouTube.  18 lessons in 9 minutes. We are all about speed and efficiency over here club kids!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment